Virginia Defense Force Units

The Virginia Defense Force consists of two major subordinate commands in addition to the VDF Force Headquarters based in Richmond, Virginia. The VDF stood down the 2nd, 3rd and 4th Regiments and stood up the 1st Regiment during a ceremony held Sept. 29, 2019. The Control Group was established March 1, 2020.

The 1st Regiment consists of six companies stationed across the Commonwealth of Virginia with the mission to provide trained and ready civil support security and interoperable communications capabilities to support the Virginia National Guard during emergency support operations. VDF line companies are made of platoons focused on civil support security and communications. The civil support security platoons provide capabilities such as traffic management, access control, gate sentry and vehicle searches, and the communications platoons utilize HF radios and tactical communication packages for data and voice messaging as well as incident management. The line companies of the 1st Regiment are located in Fairfax, Warrenton, Winchester, Virginia Beach, Lynchburg and Cedar Bluff.

The Control Group units are located across the Commonwealth of Virginia. They focus on providing the Virginia National Guard command and control staff augmentation, interoperability communications support, cyber defense, regional liaison emergency assistance and communication agencies outreach. Their mission is to train and provide proud, professional and prepared volunteers who are relevant, resilient and responsive to the Virginia Army and Air National Guard while defending the Constitution of the Commonwealth of Virginia. Control Group members anticipate requirements and rapidly deploy as directed while executing the orders of the Governor of Virginia and VDF leaders in order to save lives, protect people and property, ensure safety and relieve suffering.


VDF Unit Map